

Shropshire Council
Legal and Democratic Services
Shirehall
Abbey Foregate
Shrewsbury
SY2 6ND

Date: Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Date: Thursday, 14 May 2015

Time: 10.00 am

Committee: Council

Venue: Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting.

The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter

Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Malcolm Pate (Chairman) Pauline Dee David Lloyd (Speaker) **David Evans** Keith Barrow (Leader) Roger Evans Steve Charmley (Deputy John Everall Leader) Hannah Fraser Peter Adams Ann Hartlev Nigel Hartin **Andrew Bannerman** Richard Huffer Nicholas Bardslev Tracey Huffer Tim Barker Roger Hughes Vince Hunt

Charlotte Barnes Joyce Barrow **Tudor Bebb** John Hurst-Knight **Thomas Biggins** Jean Jones **Andy Boddington** Simon Jones Vernon Bushell Miles Kenny Gwilym Butler Heather Kidd John Cadwallader Christian Lea Karen Calder Robert Macev Jane MacKenzie Dean Carroll Chris Mellings Lee Chapman Anne Chebsey **David Minnery**

Peter Cherrington Pamela Moseley
Ted Clarke Alan Mosley
Gerald Dakin Cecilia Motley
Steve Davenport Peggy Mullock
Andrew Davies Peter Nutting

Mike Owen Kevin Pardy William Parr Vivienne Parry John Price Malcolm Price **David Roberts** Keith Roberts Madge Shineton Jon Tandy Robert Tindall Dave Tremellen Kevin Turley **David Turner** Arthur Walpole Stuart West Claire Wild **Brian Williams** Mansel Williams Leslie Winwood Michael Wood Tina Woodward

Paul Wynn

Your Committee Officers are:

Karen Nixon and Penny Chamberlain Tel: 01743 252724 or 252729.

Email: karen.nixon@shropshire.gov.uk



AGENDA

1 Election of Speaker

To elect a Speaker and deputy Chairman for the ensuing year.

2 Apologies for Absence

3 Election of Chairman and Deputy Speaker

To elect a Chairman and Deputy Speaker for the ensuing year.

4 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

5 Minutes (Pages 1 - 14)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the previous meeting held on 26 February 2015 attached marked 5.

Contact Karen Nixon Tel 01743 252724 or Penny Chamberlain 01743 252729.

6 Announcements

To receive such communications as the Chairman, Speaker, Leader and Head of Paid Service may desire to lay before the Council.

7 Public Questions

To receive any questions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14.

8 Questions from Members (Pages 15 - 20)

To receive any questions from Members, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 15.2.

9 Constitution of Committees and the Allocation of Seats to Political Groups (Pages 21 - 26)

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached, marked 9.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.

10 Amendments to the Constitution (Pages 27 - 100)

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached, marked 10.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.

11 Scheme of Delegation

To resolve that the Responsibility for functions, set out in Part 3 of the Constitution and the Scheme of Delegations, set out in Part 8 of the Constitution be agreed.

Contact Claire Porter, Head of Legal and Democratic Services, Tel 01743 252763.

Review of Non-Domestic Rates, Discretionary Relief and Council Tax Discretionary Discounts (Pages 101 - 138)

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached, marked 12.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

13 Financial Strategy **2015/16 - 2016/17** (Pages 139 - 144)

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached, marked 13.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

14 Care Act: Fees, Charging and Deferred Payments Scheme (Pages 145 - 230)

Report of the Director of Adult Services is attached, marked 14.

Contact Stephen Chandler Tel 01743 253704.

15 Dates of Council Meetings

To agree that in 2015/16 the meetings of the Council will be held on the following Thursdays commencing at 10.00 am:

- 23 July 2015
- 24 September 2015
- 17 December 2015
- 25 February 2016
- 12 May 2016 (Annual Council)

Contact Penny Chamberlain Tel 01743 252729.

16 Exclusion of the Press and Public

To RESOLVE that in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A, Local

Government Act 1972 and paragraph 10.4(3) of the Council's Access to Information Procedure Rules, the public and press be excluded during the consideration of the following items:

17 Application for Section 32 Consent for Disposal of Land and Buildings at Monkmoor Recreation Ground, Shrewsbury (Exempted by categories 1, 3, 4 and 5)

Exempt Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services will follow, marked 17.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.

18 Church Stretton Secondary School Sports and Communities Facilities (Exempted by categories 1 and 3)

Exempt Report of the Director of Commissioning will follow, marked 18.

Contact George Candler Tel 01743 255003.